Nothing Is Sacred

Becky's Take on Life, Love, Motherhood and Other Random Stuff

What The…..? March 16, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Becky @ 4:19 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

I am happily channel surfing, looking for the least offensive thing television has to offer. Sappy movie on the Hallmark channel, no. Freaky movie on the SciFi channel, nyet. Sub-titled Japanese movie on some channel I didn’t even know I got, nope. And then, with no warning whatsoever, my eyes are assaulted by a view of someone’s innards. I fumble at the remote buttons trying to change the channel before my retinas are burned any further.

Was this in the cable contract? Who, aside from people in the medical field, wants to watch this stuff? I would think even the doctors, nurses and EMT’s would like a break from the gore.

Should Jane Q. Public have to have her Lean Cuisine ruined by accidentally stumbling upon Mary Sue’s gastric bypass operation in full, living color? I will admit to occasionally getting sucked in by the human interest aspect of some of the stories, but I hate the icky parts.

It’s not just health programming that does this, either. The CSI, NCIS, SVU and other alphabet show folks seem to think I need to have realism is my life. No. I do not need to see the details of the victim’s autopsy, with their chest laid wide open while they repose on a metal table. Just tell us the cause of death and get on with solving the crime. Leave how you found the cause of death to our tiny imaginations.

We should also talk about childbirth. If I had wanted to see a woman put her va-jay-jay to the wind and give birth, I would have actually watched the childbirth video in my birthing class instead of just pretending. Likewise, if I had wanted to watch a c-section in progress I would have said “yes” when they offered to point the mirror in that direction during my own c-section. I could see a reflection in the overhead light in the OR. When I looked up and saw the scalpel drawing blood across my belly I clamped my eyes shut and didn’t open them until they brought my precious baby girl over to me.

I say skip the gore and stick to the good bits. Let’s see Mary Sue 100 lbs. lighter, the victim’s killers brought to justice, and cute little babies, tightly swaddled in blankets, snuggling in their mom’s arms.

 

2 Responses to “What The…..?”

  1. laviolett Says:

    I have this (unproved and uneducated) theory that all the gore on tv has desensitized the general public to the point that we are no longer shocked by things that we should find shocking (gaping knife wounds, bullet holes, autopsies, etc.) Desensitized to the point that we are more inclined to act violently because the shockingness (?) that should kick in when we draw blood isn’t there anymore. And by ‘we’, I totally mean crazy people.
    Wow, all this thinking and theorizing, I need to take a break with some celebrity gossip.

  2. Ellen Says:

    “Who, aside from people in the medical field, wants to watch this stuff?”

    Me. 🙂

    To me, “gore” is what they show in shoot-’em-up and slasher movies. The rest is just science.


Leave a Reply

